Past Lectures
October 2016

Andrea Ghez


Director, UCLA Galactic Center Group

University of California, Los Angeles

April 2016

David Wineland


National Institute of Standards and Technology and

The University of Colorado

Nobel Prize for Physics, 2012


Kostya Novoselov


Langworthy Professor of Physics

University of Manchester, UK

Nobel Prize for Physics, 2010


Adam Riess


Thomas J. Barber Professor of Astronomy and Physics,

Johns Hopkins University

Nobel Prize for Physics, 2011


Carlo Rubbia


Professor, Harvard University, 1970-1988

Director General, CERN, 1989-1994

Nobel Prize for Physics, 1984


Kimitoshi Kono


Chief Scientist, Low Temperature Physics Laboratory, RIKEN, Japan


John Ellis

CERN, Division Leader 1988-94

Clerke Maxwell Professor of Theoretical Physics,

Kings College, London


Yannis Semertzidis

Physicist, Brookhaven National Laboratory


Laurence Littenberg

Physicist, Brookhave National Laboratory


Paris Sphicas

Senior Staff Physicist, CERN

University of Athens



Murray Gell-Mann

Professor Emeritus, Caltech

Distinguished Fellow, Santa Fe Institute

Nobel Prize for Physics, 1969


Jacques Lasker

Director of Research CNRS

Paris Observatory


James Yorke

Professor of Mathematics and Physics,

University of Maryland


Yoram Lithwick

Assistant Professor, Northwestern University


James Sauls

Professor, Northwestern University


Michael Syphers (not pictured)

Assistant Accelerator Division Head,

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory


Leon Lederman


Director Emeritus, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

Pritzker Professor of Physics,

Illinois Institute of Technology

Nobel Prize for Physics, 1988


Steven Chu


Professor of Physics and Molecular & Cell Biology

William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Humanities & Sciences

Stanford University

United States Secretary of Energy, 2009-2013

Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboatory, 2004-2009

Nobel Prize for Physics, 1997


Alan Guth


Victor F. Weisskopf Professor of Physics

Massachussetts Institute of Technology


David Gross


Frederic W. Gluck Professor of Theoretical Physics,

Director, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics,

University of California, Santa Barbara

Nobel Prize for Physics, 2004


Barry Barish


Ronald and Maxine Linde Professor of Physics,


Director, LIGO Laboratory


Frank Wilczek


Hermann Feshbach Professor of Physics,

Massachussetts Institute of Technology


Philip Anderson


Professor, Princeton University

Nobel Prize in Physics, 1977


Theodore Haensch


Director, Max-Planck-Institut fur Quantenoptik, Garching
Professor of Physics,

Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat, Munchen, Germany

Nobel Prize in Physics, 2005


James Bjorken


Professor of Physics, Stanford University

Director, Stanford Linear Accelerator (SLAC)